BEHIND THE GROOVES: a music blog by Jeff Harris

On this day in music history: August 21, 1990 - “Graffiti Bridge”, the twelfth album by Prince is released. Produced by Prince, it is recorded at Sunset Sound Recorders in Hollywood, CA, Lake Minnetonka Home Studio in Minnetonka, MN, and Paisley Park Studios in Chanhassen, MN, circa 1983 - 1990. Issued as the soundtrack to Prince’s third film, the album features material written as far back as the “Controversy” recording sessions in 1981. Other tracks originate from various projects such as the abandoned “Dream Factory” album (which evolved into the “Sign O’ The Times” album), “Parade”, and “Crystal Ball”. Prince will begin forming the concept for “Graffiti Bridge” in 1987, with the only songs written specifically for the film being “Thieves In The Temple”, “Round And Round” (recorded by Tevin Campbell), and “New Power Generation”. The completed album features songs performed by The Time, Mavis Staples and Tevin Campbell, along side Prince’s songs. The soundtrack album will be much better received than the film which is widely panned upon its release, and is a box office disappointment. The album will spin off off five singles including “Thieves In The Temple” (#1 R&B, #6 Pop) and “Round And Round” (#3 R&B, #12 Pop). “Graffiti Bridge” will peak at number six on the Billboard Top 200 and R&B album chart, and is certified Platinum in the US by the RIAA.

  1. goddesscru reblogged this from behindthegrooves and added:
    I can’t watch the film to save my soul, but I LOVE this album. ❤️ #Prince
  2. hiiipowerpanda reblogged this from behindthegrooves
  3. doomthatbum reblogged this from behindthegrooves
  4. benecelante reblogged this from behindthegrooves
  5. behindthegrooves posted this